Positive Action Group - Possan Jantys Jarrooagh

Open, accountable government, rigorous control of public finances, and a fairer society for all.

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

PAG Event: The Dark Money Files

E-mail Print PDF

Positive Action Group public meeting

The Dark Money Files

The role of UK shell companies in global criminal networks


A presentation by Graham Barrow

Creator/Director of anti-financial crime project 'The Dark Money Files'

Monday 28 March 2022 @ 7:30pm

Manx Legion club, Market Hill, Douglas IM1 2BQ


Last Updated on Tuesday, 22 March 2022 22:03

PAG Event: Gas: Extract or Leave?

E-mail Print PDF

Positive Action Group public meeting

GAS: Extract or Leave?

gas platform

Diccen Sergeant, CEO, Crogga Chris Robertshaw, Crogga major shareholder (as substitute)

Stu Peters MHK

Jon Curtis - Director, Petrolink International Ltd

Paul Craine MLC

Chair: Paul Moulton

Monday 28 February 2022 @ 7:30pm

Manx Legion club, Market Hill, Douglas IM1 2BQ


Last Updated on Tuesday, 22 March 2022 21:36

PAG Event: Legislative Council Hustings 2021

E-mail Print PDF

Legislative Council Election Hustings

PAG has invited the seven candidates for the two vacancies to speak for themselves at a public meeting chaired by Paul Moulton.

7:30pm Monday 15th November 2021

Promenade Church, Loch Promenade, Douglas

The event is free and open to all


The candidates:    Corelli Bentham + Craig Brown + MaryBeth Coll + Paul Craine + Connor Keenan + Diane Kelsey + Bill Shimmins


Last Updated on Saturday, 13 November 2021 14:33

PAG Event: Chief Minister Hustings 2021

E-mail Print PDF

Chief Minister Hustings

Dr Alex Allinson MHK,   Alf Cannan MHK


7:30pm Monday 11th October 2021

Manx Legion Club, Market Hill, Douglas

The event is free and open to all

Every five years the Isle of Man chooses a Chief Minister (CM). Well that is not quite correct, because it's the 24 newly elected MHKs that elect the Chief Minister.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 06 October 2021 23:23

Coping with Covid

E-mail Print PDF

coping covid

Last Updated on Monday, 12 July 2021 22:14

Block Vote in Tynwald

E-mail Print PDF

To aid understanding of Tynwald voting procedures PAG has updated its acclaimed 'Block Vote' diagram.

To be successful, the proposer of a motion, must get a majority of votes in both Keys and Council - generally
13 and 5 votes respectively.

In the Keys, bolstered by collective responsibility a Minister can be guaranteed 9 votes plus the votes of his/her
departmental members e.g The DfE Minister has 12 votes in the bag before any vote is taken!

We are pleased to say that, compared with our previous Block Vote from 2012, the current version shows that this voting system
is marginally less predictable. There are fewer MLCs who have a departmental role.

PAG Block Vote v3 2021s

Last Updated on Sunday, 13 June 2021 14:00

Seven Challenges the Isle of Man must Confront in the Near Future

E-mail Print PDF

towChange is in the air following extreme uncertainty in recent months.

After the General Election in September IoM will have new politicians in post, a different Chief Minister and government.

There will be a new Lieutenant Governor and Attorney General. A new Clerk of Tynwald will be in place.

PAG has assessed the considerable challenges that the new administration will have to face and we address them here in this discussion paper.

(see Disclosure at end of the paper)

FileFile sizeDownloads
Download this file (Seven strategic challenges.pdf)Seven strategic challenges.pdf311 Kb636
Last Updated on Sunday, 27 June 2021 19:37

IoM Politician's Pay

E-mail Print PDF

In September 2021 the remuneration of Tynwald Members will be transferred to a different, simpler pay scale.

It is claimed that overall it will be cost neutral for the tax payer, but we disagree (see Total)

Here we examine the changes by comparing the current remuneration (including expenses) with that proposed:

Current (£)

Proposed (£)

Chief Minister

88,022 86,954


74,620 76,921


79,087 76,921


74,620 76,921

Treasury Members

70,152 66,888

Statutory Board Chair

70,152 70,232

MHK - Departmental Member

65,685 66,888

MHK - not Departmental Member

52,282 66,888

MLC Departmental Member

65,685 63,145

MLC - not Departmental Member

52,282 63,145


2,225,673 2,304,447

Note: the current remuneration may have been enhanced by 1% in April 2021, but we have not been able to confirm this.

Last Updated on Sunday, 13 June 2021 14:41
  • «
  •  Start 
  •  Prev 
  •  1 
  •  2 
  •  3 
  •  4 
  •  5 
  •  6 
  •  7 
  •  8 
  •  9 
  •  10 
  •  Next 
  •  End 
  • »

Page 1 of 31



Our occasional newsletter provides details of forthcoming events and features new website articles.

Main Menu