Positive Action Group - Possan Jantys Jarrooagh

Open, accountable government, rigorous control of public finances, and a fairer society for all.

  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size

PAG AGM 2013

E-mail Print PDF
User Rating: / 2

PAG Annual General and Public Meeting

7:00pm : AGM

7:45pm : "The Legislative Council - What now?" by Chris Thomas M.A. (Oxon)

Monday, March 25th 2013

Manx Legion, Market Street, Douglas

ALL Welcome - Admission Free



0 #5 Presentationroy 2013-03-28 09:16
Maurice - the presentation is now available on the home page and through 'previous evenst' on left hand menu.
0 #4 Request linksMaurice 2013-03-27 11:32
Please do you have links to Chris' slide show, and latest reports on the Justice Department's 2010 proposals?
0 #3 Meeting is ONRoger 2013-03-25 09:56
This PAG meeting is ON, despite the wintery weather. Come along and join in the debate - local politics matters!
0 #2 Stuart McKenzie's suggestion from 2011Roger 2013-03-24 18:26
0 #1 Legislative Council Election 18.03.13wilfred tomlinson 2013-03-11 17:36
The Legislative Council (LegCo) is the upper branch of Tynwald. It's job is to consider and advise on legislation, usually initiated by the House of Keys (HoK)
LegCo has 3 members who sit ex-officio - President, Lord Bishop and the Attorney General - and the remaining 8 are elected by HoK.
Also they serve as full members of Tynwald with the same rights and privileges as HoK, with the exception of the Attorney General, who doesn't have a vote, and the President, who can only vote in the case of a tie in the upper branch.
Four out of the 8 elected members have reached the end of their 5 year term of office and 2, Callister and Lowey, have stood down.
Five new candidates, together with 2 seeking re-election are competng for 4 seats.
HoK will sit as an electoral college on Monday 18th March 2013 to fill the vacant seats. It is not a first past the post system as the successful candidates will have to obtain a minimum of 13 votes.
The voting is by secret ballot paper and it is thus possible for MHKs to spoil their papers.
If any of the seats remain unfilled further nominations can be called and a new election date set.
Some previous elections have been long drawn out procedures with as many as 15 separate polls before all the seats were filled.

The 7 candidate for the forthcoming election are:-

Mrs Linda Bowers-Kasch, nominated by Mr Peter Karran MHK.

ELECTED - Mr Michael Coleman, nominated by Hon David Cretney MHK.

ELECTED - Mr Geoff Corkish, nominated by Hon Juan Watterson MHK.

Mr Peter Hill, nominated by Mr Peter Karran MHK.

Mr Nigel Malpass, nominated by Hon Allan Bell MHK.

ELECTED - Mr Juan Turner, nominated by Hon Tim Crookall MHK

ELECTED - Mr Tony Wild, nominated by Mr John Houghton MHK.

Add comment

Please note that unregistered visitors are required to add their email and 'captcha code' in order to prevent spam and advertising. Your email address will NEVER be published. Registered members do not need to enter this - why not register today?

Security code



Our occasional newsletter provides details of forthcoming events and features new website articles.

Main Menu